GFWC Scholarship Awards


Photo caption: (L-R): Chair Lucy Albury, Clayton Topdemir, Kaitlyn Sheppard, Alexis Fernandez, Jadon Ferrance, Alissa Vani, Marian Suliman, Shannon Gordy, President Annette Bellingar & Jay Muffly (Lutz
Fireman’s Endowment FUND)

GFWC Lutz-Land O’Lakes Woman’s Club proudly announces a total of $23,950 in Scholarship awards for 2021. For more than a decade, the club has had the privilege of administering the Lutz Fireman’s Endowment Fund on behalf of the former Lutz Volunteer Fire Department. Each year two scholarships have been awarded to students who are Lutz residents, however the former Fireman’s Fund Directors generously recommended that, in this challenging pandemic year, the Woman’s Club double the awards to FOUR $5,000 scholarships due to exceptional need in the community.

The four recipients of the 2021 Fireman’s Fund Awards are: Shannon Gordy – $5,000 (Sunlake H.S.), Clayton Topdemir – $5,000 (Cypress Creek H.S.), Zachary Maddox – $5,000, not pictured, (Freedom H.S.) and Kaitlyn Sheppard – $5,000 (Gaither H.S.).

GFWC Lutz-Land O’Lakes Woman’s Club Scholarship Recipients are: Alexis Fernandez – $1,100 (Land O’Lakes H.S.), Jadon Ferrance – $1,100 (Steinbrenner H.S.), Alissa Vani – $1,000 (Steinbrenner) AND the Lynn LaFleur Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Marian Suliman – $750 (Steinbrenner H.S.).

This exceptional group of graduates will soon begin their exciting university studies at: Florida State, USF, Hillsborough C.C., George Washington U., UF, Florida A & M, UNF and UCF. The Woman’s Club heartily congratulates the 2021 Scholarship winners and wishes them every success in pursuing their educational paths and future careers.


(L-R): Club Scholarship Chair Lucy Albury, Alexis Fernandez, Jadon Ferrance, Alissa Vani, Marian Suliman and Club President Annette Bellingar

(L-R) Club President Annette Bellingar, Kaitlyn Sheppard, Clayton Topdemir, Shannon Gordy, Zachary Maddox (not pictured) & Jay Muffly (Lutz Fireman’s Endowment Fund)


Leave a Reply